Selvie Becomes USF’s First Two-Time All-American

TAMPA – Another milestone for the University of South Florida football program was set on Thursday morning, when for the second consecutive season George Selvie was named a First Team All-American by the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA).

Selvie is the first repeat All-American in USF history. It comes one season after being the first consensus All-American in program history and joining teammate and current Dallas Cowboy Mike Jenkins as the first, first team All-America honorees in program history.

“What an honor,” said Selvie. “This one has special meaning because it is the coaches that vote on the award. To gain their recognition for a second consecutive season is more than I ever envisioned.”

The Pensacola native has overcome a nagging ankle injury and constant double and triple teams to collect 11 tackles for loss and five sacks this season.

Last season he was recognized as a first team All-American by AP,, College Football News, ESPN, FWAA,, Walter Camp and He was joined on the 2007 AFCA First Team by Jenkins.

Selvie and Cincinnati punter Kevin Huber are the lone BIG EAST representatives on the AFCA team.

Selvie is among a total of 128 players that have earned AFCA Coaches’ All-America Team honors two or more times since the first team was announced in 1945.

The junior defensive end has announced that he will submit paperwork to the NFL Advisory Committee, but will not make a decision on whether or not to enter the NFL Draft until after the bowl season.

The AFCA has selected an All-America team every year since 1945.

The five teams now chosen for each AFCA division evolved from a single 11-player squad in 1945. From 1945 until 1967, only one team was chosen. From 1967 through 1971, two teams, University Division and College Division, were selected. In 1972, the College Division was split into College I and College II. In 1979, the University Division was split into two teams — Division I-A and Division I-AA. In 1996 the College I and College II teams were renamed Division II and Division III respectively. The AFCA has selected an NAIA All-America Team since 2006.

From 1965-81, a 22-player (11 offensive, 11 defensive) team was chosen. In 1982, a punter and placekicker were added to the team. In 1997 a return specialist was added, giving us the current 25-player team.

The return specialist position has been replaced by an all-purpose player in 2006.
The AFCA’s Football Bowl Subdivision All-America Selection Committee is made up of three head coaches from each of the AFCA’s nine FBS districts, one of whom serves as a district chairman, along with another head coach who serves as the chairman of the selection committee. The coaches in each district are responsible for ranking the top players in their respective districts, that information, along with ballots submitted by FBS head coaches, are used to select the AFCA FBS Coaches’ All-America Team.

View the Complete AFCA All-American Team

The University of South Florida is one of the nation's top 63 public research universities and one of 39 community-engaged, four-year public universities as designated by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. USF was awarded more than $360 million in research contracts and grants in FY 2007/2008. The university offers 219 degree programs at the undergraduate, graduate, specialist and doctoral levels, including the doctor of medicine. The university has a $1.8 billion annual budget, an annual economic impact of $3.2 billion, and serves more than 46,000 students on campuses in Tampa, St. Petersburg, Sarasota-Manatee and Lakeland. USF is a member of the Big East Athletic Conference.

- USF -