USF Kente Award Scholarship Luncheon to be Held Feb. 14

TAMPA, Fla. (Feb. 13, 2009) – The University of South Florida’s African-American Advisory Committee will honor Paulette Walker and Carolyn House Stewart tomorrow during its Kente Award Scholarship Luncheon, 12 noon at the Marshall Student Center Royal Palm Ballroom.  The Feb 14 fund-raising event will provide funds for the Dr. Israel “Ike” Tribble, Jr. Memorial Scholarship.  USF President Judy Genshaft will present the awards.


Stewart is the international first vice president of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated (AKA) and is a shareholder of the Macfarlane Ferguson and McMullen law firm, where she practices in the Tampa office in the areas of labor and employment law, personal injury, eminent domain, insurance defense, commercial litigation and products liability.  She has lectured on many trial related topics and is involved in numerous professional and civic organizations.  Stewart will be installed as AKA international president during the sorority’s convention in 2010. 


Walker, program director of USF Undergraduate Programs and Internships, holds the office of national first vice president of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. (Delta).  A graduate of Michigan State University, Walker holds a master of arts in guidance and counseling from the University of Michigan where she also received her doctorate in education focusing on administration and supervision.  She has served in numerous roles in the public school system starting as a classroom teacher and working her way up to assistant principal and district-wide supervisor of state and federal projects.  Her research focuses on curriculum, instruction, administration and supervision issues in urban schools and is co-author of We Can Have Better Urban Schools.  In the sorority, she has served on the national, regional and local levels in many roles including southern regional director and chair of the long range planning task force. 


“Dr. Walker and Ms. Stewart are outstanding national and local leaders whom we are fortunate to have in our community,” said USF Director of Community Relations Les Miller.  “In Dr. Walker’s case, she’s someone everyone looks up to here at USF for her contributions to the College of Education and in Ms. Stewart’s case, she is one of the few African-American women partners in this country to be found in a majority law firm and she has made innumerable contributions to the community in many areas.”


The Dr. Israel “Ike” Tribble Jr. Endowed Scholarship was established to honor the memory and life work of its namesake, a prominent Tampa Bay educator and businessman, by providing financial support for economically challenged students to attend USF. 


“Tribble was a humanitarian and educator, administrator, community leader, social activist and philanthropist and was instrumental in helping African Americans earn undergraduate and graduate degrees as well as faculty positions and tenure,” said Miller. 


Tribble held leadership positions on the boards of the Tampa Housing Authority, the Greater Tampa Chamber of Commerce and the University of South Florida Foundation as well as on many national and international boards.   


Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated is a service-oriented organization with more than 200,000 college educated women, funded in 1908 at Howard University.  Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority promotes program initiatives impacting educational, social and political issues. Historically the organization’s projects addressed education, health, the family, the arts, economic empowerment and leadership development through community service programs implemented by 930 chapters in the United States and abroad.


Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., founded in 1913 by 22 students at Howard University, is a private, non-profit organization whose purpose is to provide assistance and support through established programs in local communities throughout the world. A sisterhood of more than 250,000 predominately Black college educated women, the Sorority currently has over 950 chapters located in the United States, England, Japan (Tokyo and Okinawa), Germany, the Virgin Islands (St. Croix and St. Thomas), Jamaica, Bermuda, the Bahamas and the Republic of Korea.


Honorary Chairs for this event include: U.S. Congresswoman Kathy Castor; State Senator Arthenia Joyner; State Representative Betty Reed, Tampa Mayor Pam Iorio, Tampa City Councilwoman Gwen Miller, Hillsborough County School Board Member Doretha Edgecomb, County Administrator Pat Bean and USF Trustee Sonja Garcia.


The USF African American Advisory Committee includes: Chair Joyce Russell, Vice-Chair Ralph Alderman, Secretary Karlene Taylor and members Henry Bell, James O. Brookins, MD (a Bronze Sponsor of this event), Darrell B. Daniels, Marian Lauria-Davis, Don Odom and Phildra Swagger.


The University of South Florida is one of the nation's top 63 public research universities and one of 39 community-engaged, four-year public universities as designated by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. USF was awarded more than $360 million in research contracts and grants in FY 2007/2008. The university offers 219 degree programs at the undergraduate, graduate, specialist and doctoral levels, including the doctor of medicine. The university has a $1.8 billion annual budget, an annual economic impact of $3.2 billion, and serves more than 46,000 students on campuses in Tampa, St. Petersburg, Sarasota-Manatee and Lakeland. USF is a member of the Big East Athletic Conference.

– USF –