USF Expert List - Gulf Oil Spill

TAMPA, Fla. (May 13, 2010) -- Researchers at the University of South Florida's College of Marine Science are using advanced technology and oceanographic expertise to aid authorities and the public in understanding the ramifications of the oil spill in the Gulf. They are also available to assist media with inquiries on the current issues of the oil spill, the consequences to Florida and the long-term impact to the gulf coast. 

 

The following researchers are able to comment on a variety of issues related to the spill, and the following list has been prepared for the media’s convenience in contacting USF experts. Please be advised, however, some faculty may not be immediately available due to previously scheduled commitments or if they are participating in the R/V Weatherbird II research cruise, but will make every effort to respond to inquiries in a timely manner.

 

To view previous coverage from USF’s College of Marine Science, click here.

 

University of South Florida oil spill experts

College of Marine Science:

 

William T. Hogarth:

Dean, USF College of Marine Science

Fishery management; marine animals and resources; marine habitat conservation; recreational and commercial fishing

E-mail: billhogarth@usf.edu

Phone: (727) 553-3542

 

Eric Montie:

Postdoctoral researcher, USF College of Marine Science

Impact of chemicals on ocean life; effects of domoic acid on sea lion hippocampus; effects of anthropogenic chemicals and marine toxins on fish and dolphin hearing

E-mail: emontie@marine.usf.edu

Phone: (727) 553-1237

 

Ernst Peebles:

Associate Professor of biological oceanography, USF College of Marine Science

Zooplankton supply; ichthyoplankton; spatio-temporal interactions between coastal fishes and their prey; interaction among estuarine fish, zooplankton, and hyperbenthos

E-mail: epeebles@marine.usf.edu

Phone: (727) 553-3983

 

Albert Hine:

Associate Dean and Professor of geological oceanography, USF College of Marine Science

Geological processes and products of shallow marine sedimentary environments; development, history, stratigraphy, sedimentation of carbonate platforms; coastal geology; coastal wetlands; sequence stratigraphy; interpretation of seismic reflection data; seafloor mapping and interpretation

E-mail: hine@marine.usf.edu

Phone: (727) 553-1161

 

Eugene Shinn:

Courtesy Professor, USF College of Marine Science

Carbonate sedimentology; coral reef ecosystems; sedimentary geology

E-mail: eshinn@marine.usf.edu

Phone: (727) 553-1158

 

Frank Muller-Karger:

Professor of Biological Oceanography and Remote Sensing, USF College of Marine Science

Director, USF Institute for Marine Remote Sensing (IMaRS)

Oceanography; marine primary production using satellite remote sensing, large data sets, networking, and high-speed computing; continental margins, including areas of upwelling, river discharge, and coral reefs; measurement of phytoplankton and other materials in sea water

E-mail: carib@marine.usf.edu

Phone: (727) 553-3335

 

Chuanmin Hu:

Associate Professor of Optical Oceanography, USF College of Marine Science

Coastal ocean problems using primarily optics, river-ocean interactions, carbon cycling, algal blooms, coral reef environmental health and ecosystem connectivity, climate change and anthropogenic influence on coastal/estuarine water quality

E-mail: hu@marine.usf.edu

Phone: (727) 553-3987

 

Edward (Ted) Van Vleet:

Professor of Chemical Oceanography, USF College of Marine Science

Marine natural products, marine organic chemistry, oil pollution and toxicology

E-mail: vanvleet@marine.usf.edu

Phone: (727) 553-1165

 

Robert Weisberg:

Distinguished University Professor of physical oceanography, USF College of Marine Science

Ocean circulation; ocean-atmosphere interaction studies in the tropics, on continental shelves, and in estuaries; the West Florida Continental Shelf (WFS); interactions between the WFS and the deep-ocean; interactions between WFS  and the estuaries

E-mail: weisberg@marine.usf.edu

Phone: (727) 553-1130

 

Lianyuan Zheng:

Research Associate, USF College of Marine Science Ocean Circulation Group; Three-Dimensional Hydrodynamic Modeling in Estuaries and Continental Shelf; Hurricane-induced Storm Surge Simulation; Estuarine Water Quality Modeling

E-mail: lzheng@marine.usf.edu

Phone: (727) 553-1639

 

Yonggang Liu:
Research Associate, USF College of Marine Science Ocean Circulation Group; Physical & satellite oceanography in coastal oceans; novel data analysis methods in meteorology & oceanography; coastal ocean circulation modeling; oil spill trajectory modeling.

E-Mail: yliu@marine.usf.edu

Phone: (727) 553-3508

 

College of Arts and Sciences:

 

Susan Bell:

Professor and Chair of Department of Integrative Biology. Coastal ecosystems and a special emphasis on plant-animal interactions, salt marshes, mangroves and seagrass beds.

Email: sbell@cas.usf.edu

Phone: (813)  974-2542

 

Ping Wang:

Associate Professor, Department of Geology. Coastal geology and buried oil along the oil-impact zone from northwest Florida to Alabama.

Email: pwang@cas.usf.edu

Phone: (813) 974-9170

 

College of Business:

 

Sajeev Varki:

Marketing, College of Business

Consumers/Marketing

E-mail: svarki@usf.edu

Phone: (813) 974-6227

 

Brad Kamp:

Economics, College of Arts & Sciences

Gas Prices

Email: bkamp@usf.edu

Phone: (813) 974-6380

 

Dror Parnes:

Finance, College of Business

BP’s Survival

Email: dparnes@usf.edu

Phone: (813) 974-6357

 

Jack Rader:

Finance, College of Business

BP’s Survival

Email: jrader@usf.edu

Phone: (813) 974-3156

 

Michael Fountain:

Entrepreneurship, Center for Entrepreneurship

Entrepreneurship

Email: fountain@usf.edu

Phone: (813) 974-7200

 

Sharon Hanna-West:

Management, College of Business

Sustainability and Legal/Ethical Issues

Email: shannawe@coba.usf.edu

Phone: (813) 974-6893

 

Kevin Renshler:

Management, College of Business

Business Strategy

Email: renshler@usf.edu

PhoneL (813) 974-1732

 

 

Please contact Lara Wade at (813) 974-9060 / lwade@admin.usf.edu or call Vickie Chachere at (813) 787-2990 / vchachere@admin.usf.edu to schedule interviews or check on faculty availability.