USF Awards Tenure to 42 Faculty

TAMPA, Fla. (July 16, 2010) -- The University of South Florida Board of Trustees approved tenure recommendations for 42 faculty members as presented by USF President Judy Genshaft. Tenure recognizes faculty members’ significant scholarly contributions to the university and their disciplines.


The following faculty members were granted tenure:


College of Arts & Sciences

Jon Antilla, chemistry

Catherine Beneteau, mathematics

Jennifer Bosson, psychology

Sara Crawley, sociology

Kenneth Malmberg, psychology

Garrett Matthews, physics

Martin Muschol, physics

Brendan Nagle, mathematics

Adriana Novoa, humanities and cultural studies

Thomas Pluckhahn, anthropology

Geoffrey Potts, psychology

Leslaw Skrzypek, mathematics


College of Behavioral & Community Sciences

Tamara Baker, aging studies

Jerri Edwards, aging studies

Amber Gum, aging and mental health disparities


College of Education

Ilene Berson, early childhood education

Thomas Miller, psychological and social foundations

Tony Tan, psychological and social foundations


College of Engineering

Maya Trotz, civil and environmental engineering
Hao Zheng, computer science and engineering


College of Medicine

John Mayer, physical therapy and rehabilitation sciences


College of Nursing

Janine Overcash, nursing


College of Public Health

Ellen Daley, community and family health

Yangxin Huang, epidemiology and biostatistics

Wayne Westhoff, global health


College of The Arts

Neil Bender, painting and drawing

Gregory Green, sculpture and extended media

Julie Weitz, painting and drawing


USF St. Petersburg

Alejandro Brice, secondary education

Kathleen Carvalho-Knighton, chemistry

Sallie Morgan Gresham, English

Thomas Hallock, English

Narciso Hidalgo, Spanish

Seth McKee, political science

Ella Schmidt, anthropology


USF Polytechnic

Andrew Artis, marketing

Richard Marshall, education


USF Sarasota-Manatee

James Curran, marketing

Delaney Kirk, management

G. Patricia Wilson, reading education