Faculty Receive Outstanding Research Achievement Awards

Ten faculty members recognized by Office of Innovation & Research during ResearchOne 2010.

Tampa, Fla. (Oct. 12, 2010) – The USF Office of Research & Innovation recognized 10 USF faculty members on the first day of ResearchOne 2010 for excellence in research and innovation with Outstanding Research Achievement Awards.

The Outstanding Research Achievement Award rewards faculty who have received truly exceptional recognition of their research with preeminent awards, grants or publications in top journals during the 2009 calendar year. The awards were presented on Monday Oct. 11, during the Research Exhibition & Faculty Awards Reception in the Interdisciplinary Research Building (IDRB) Galleria

Faculty who received awards are:

Amina Alio, assistant professor of community and family health, College of Public Health, whose outstanding publications include a seminal paper published in the Lancet, on the impact of intimate partner violence.

Matthias M. Batzill, assistant professor of physics, College of Arts & Sciences, who received a competitive “CAREER” grant from the National Science Foundation titled Nanoscale surface properties of functional metal oxides, a Department of Energy grant, Photocatalysis of modified transition metal oxide surfaces, and funding of over $1 million dollars.

Elizabeth Bird, professor of anthropology, College of Arts & Sciences, is the recipient of the Communication Research as Open Field Award from the International Communication Association (ICA).

Lynn Bloxom Martin, assistant professor of integrative biology, and recipient of the George A. Bartholomew Young Investigator Award, from the Society for Integrative and Comparative Biology and from the NSF, Integrative Organismal Systems Program, entitled: Physiological mediation of vertebrate invasions.

Jerri D. Edwards, assistant professor, School of Aging Studies, College of Behavioral and Community Sciences, received recognition for her research and publications on cognitive intervention and training and won an R21 grant from the National Institute on Aging, titled: Cognitive Speed of Processing Training Among Persons with Parkinson's Disease.

Carolyn S. Ellis, professor of communication, College of Arts & Sciences. Ellis received the 2009 Charles Horton Cooley Award, presented by the Society for the Study of Symbolic Interaction, for her book, Revision: Autoethnographic Reflections on Life and Work.

Cecile A. Lengacher, professor and director of the BS-PhD Program in the College of Nursing, received a 5-year NIH R01 grant from the National Cancer Institute and received supplemental ARRA funding, with total funding in excess of $3 million dollars.

Casey W. Miller, assistant professor of physics, College of Arts & Sciences, received two extremely competitive grants, the Air Force Office of Scientific Research Young Investigator Award and NSF Early Career Award for his research in magnetic materials, with a funding total of $896,334.

Eric A. Storch, associate professor of pediatrics, College of Medicine, received grant funding from the National Institute of Child Health & Development, titled: CBT for Anxiety Disorders in Autism: Adapting Treatment for Adolescents and the All Children's Hospital Research Foundation, with funding over $1 million dollars.

Thomas R. Unnash, professor and State of Florida World Class Scholar, Global Health Infectious Disease Research Program, College of Public Health, for continued extraordinary contributions in global infectious disease research, winning two American Recovery and Investments Act Awards, and continued uninterrupted funding from the NIH.