USF's Genshaft Named to Governor's Education Team

FORT LAUDERDALE, Fla. (Dec. 2, 2010) – University of South Florida President Judy Genshaft was named to Governor-elect Rick Scott’s latest transition team on education reform.


Calling the members of his latest transition team “Champions for Achievement,” Scott announced the experienced and distinguished team of education experts Thursday to help him find innovative ways to create a new education system for a new economy. The team also includes nationally recognized education reformer Michelle Rhee.


The transition team will assist Scott in identifying innovative ideas from the private sector, success stories from other states, cost-saving opportunities and legislative priorities that will help reduce the size of government, improve the education system in Florida and meet the workforce needs necessary to create 700,000 jobs over the next seven years.


The Education Transition Team includes:


-       Michelle Rhee – Former Chancellor, Washington, DC Schools

-       Patricia Levesque – Executive Director, Foundation For Florida’s Future

-       MaryEllen Elia – Superintendent, Hillsborough County Schools

-       Ed Moore – President, Independent Colleges and Universities of Florida

-       J. David Armstrong, Jr. – President, Broward College and Former Chancellor of Community Colleges of Florida

-       John Kirtley – Chairman, Step Up For Students

-       Liza McFadden – President, Volunteer USA Foundation

-       Frank T. Brogan – Chancellor, State University System of Florida

-       Dr. Fred Lippman – Chancellor, Health Professions Division – Nova Southeastern University

-       Dennis W. Bakke – President and CEO, Imagine Schools

-       Dr. Judy Genshaft – President, University of South Florida

-       Julio Fuentes – President, Florida State Hispanic Chamber of Commerce

-       Carlos Curbelo – Miami Dade School Board and State Director for Sen. LeMieux

-       Mindy Cunningham – Principal, J Strategies

-       Gary R. Chartrand – Executive Chairman, Acosta Sales & Marketing Company and Board of Directors, KIPP Schools Jacksonville, Florida

-       Dr. Don Pemberton – Director, Lastinger Center For Learning University of Florida

-       Mindy Lafevers-Hodge – World History Instructor, Florida Virtual Schools

-       Jonathan K. Hage – President and CEO, Charter Schools USA