2012 Student Research Award Recipients Announced

USF’s Office of Research & Innovation was proud to host the 2012 Student Research Awards Luncheon on Friday, April 20 where the students were honored for their outstanding scholarship and research. Opening remarks were provided by President Genshaft and the Vice President for Research & Innovation, Dr. Paul R. Sanberg. 

This year’s 18 Excellence in Undergraduate research awards recipients were selected at the USF Undergraduate Research and Arts Colloquium from more than 175 student entries. The student award recipients are: Jessica Bencivenga, James Billings, Raechel Canipe, Richard Crouse, Anton Dapcic, Jackalynne DeLong, Leanna Houston, Jessica Leon, Saiteja Mallipedi, Mireidys Martinez, Kathleen Pombier, Jacint Sanchez, Rachel Shields, Leah Smith, Christina Swanson, Ioanna Tagarelli, Khoury Vendura, and Lauren Wyper were presented by Dr. Robert Sullins and Dr. Richard Pollenz.
The Honor’s College student award winners include: Christie Campla, Roy Elias, Danielle Grams, Samantha Groene, Lacey Harrington, Shaza Hussein, Ryan Kaufman, Michael Kotarinos, Brittany Leigh, Gabriella Romero, Jacqueline Romero, Amber Schmidt, Sirisha Thambuluru, Lauren Townsend, and Jean Weatherwax were presented by Dr. Stuart Silverman.

The Graduate student award recipients that were chosen at the 2012 Graduate Student Research Symposium are: Renee Brown, Carolyn Day, Yolanda Daza, Courtney Judd, Valentina Schneeberger, and Matthew Verbyla were presented by Dr. Karen Liller and Dr. Peter Harries.

Florida High Tech Corridor students were also recognized by their President, Randy Berridge, during the awards luncheon.

Congratulations students for your extraordinary achievements!