International Whaling Commission Commends Dean

TAMPA, Fla. (July 16, 2008) – As it completed its 60th annual meeting in Santiago, Chile last month, the International Whaling Commission (IWC) recognized the University of South Florida's William T. Hogarth, dean of the College of Marine Sciences, for his contributions to the commission as its current chair and for "his outstanding leadership and work on the discussion on the future of the IWC."

Six-hundred people representing the 81 countries that are member nations of the IWC attended this year’s annual meeting.

Hogarth was appointed as the U.S. commission to the IWC by President George W. Bush in 2006. He was elected chair of the IWC that same year for a three-year term, which runs until June 2009.

Founded in 1946 under the International Convention for the Regulation of Whaling, the IWC's primary function is to review and revise measures that govern the conduct of whaling throughout the world. In addition, the commission encourages, coordinates and funds whale research. Minoru Morimot, director-general of the Institute of Cetacean Research in Tokyo, Japan serves as vice chair of the commission.

"The IWC is the recognized, international body that addresses large whale conservation and management, including aboriginal subsistence whaling and non-lethal, whole whaling, which is over a billion dollar industry," said Hogarth.

"USF is actively involved in international issues as well as research that enable us to better understand the behavior of these magnificent marine mammals and the environment in which they live," said Hogarth. "It is only through universities such as USF, governments and researchers throughout the world working together that we can recover these whales so that all people can benefit."

Under Hogarth's leadership, the IWC has agreed to a process to examine many issues which the IWC faces in the conservation and management of the world’s large whales. A working group was established under his supervision to develop a "negotiated package" for consideration by the IWC in June 2009.

"Dean Hogarth's service to the International Whaling Commission epitomizes USF's commitment to global engagement," said Ralph Wilcox, USF provost and senior vice president for Academic Affairs. "We are proud of the impact of his international leadership on marine science, research, and management and conservation policies for whaling throughout the world."

The University of South Florida is among the nation's top 63 public research universities and one of 39 community engaged public universities as designated by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. It is one of Florida's top three research universities. USF was awarded more than $300 million in research contracts and grants last year. The university offers 219 degree programs at the undergraduate, graduate, specialist and doctoral levels, including the doctor of medicine. The university has a $1.8 billion annual budget, an annual economic impact of $3.2 billion, and serves more than 45,000 students on campuses in Tampa, St. Petersburg, Sarasota-Manatee and Lakeland. USF is a member of the Big East Athletic Conference.

– USF –